Databases : E

Displaying 1 - 43 of 43

Early American Fiction

Provides the full text of 440 works of 80 U.S. novelists and short-story writers, 1774-1850. This database comprises first editions of American novels and short stories written before 1850 by authors significant during their lifetimes. Based on Jacob Blanck's Bibliography of American Literature and Lyle Wright's American Fiction and complemented by the online Wright American fiction, 1851-1875 and the microform collection Wright American Fiction.


Connect to Early American Fiction

Early American Imprints: The Digital Evans

Provides the full text of most printed matter issued in what became the United States and Canada from 1640-1800, including books, pamphlets,and broadsides. Based on the American Bibliography compiled by Charles Evans, with updates and corrections, EAI offers rich indexing (author, title, subject, genre, publishing location, language, more) and easy access to the print culture of Colonial and early republican America. || Complemented by the microform collection Early American Newspapers and two full-text collections, Early English Books Online and Eighteenth Century Collections Online.


Connect to Early American Imprints: The Digital Evans

Early American Newspapers: Series 1-7

This growing collection of fully searchable historical American newspapers is the most extensive resource of its kind. With nearly 1,500 titles from all 50 states, Early American Newspapers provides an unparalleled record of the topics, people, issues and events that have shaped America for nearly three centuries.


Connect to Early American Newspapers: Series 1-7

Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment

Database includes letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of encounters between native cultures and colonizers in North and South America (although Canada and the United States dominate). Aside from a keyword search, indexes include characteristics of authors, place, peoples, cultural and personal events, year, environment and images.


Connect to Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment

Early English Books Online

Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains over 125,000 books, pamphlets, broadsides, and other printed matter printed in England or its Colonies or in English anywhere during the years 1475-1700. EEBO titles appear as digital images and can be downloaded as pdf files. The database is searchable, but see also the English Short-Title Catalogue that allows more complex searches and is keyed to EEBO titles.  Some 25,000 of the EEBO titles are being digitized with SGML coding as part of the "Text Creation Partnership."  Included here are titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475 - 1640), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue(1641-1700), and the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661); titles in the Tract Supplement will be added starting in 2007-08.


Connect to Early English Books Online

Early English Books Online (Text Creation Partnership)

The Text Creation Partnership creates standardized, accurate XML/SGML encoded electronic text editions of early print books. Text is transcribed and marked up from the millions of page images in ProQuest's Early English Books Online, Gale Cengage's Eighteenth Century Collections Online, and Readex's Evans Early American Imprints.


Connect to Early English Books Online (Text Creation Partnership)

EBSCOhost Academic Search Complete

See entry at Academic Search Complete for link.


EBSCOhost E-Books

A collection of more than 15,000 electronic books on a variety of topics. These e-books can be viewed online or downloaded onto a computer or portable device. You must have Adobe Digital Editions installed on your computer in order to download these e-books. For additional important information on downloading e-books, please see the FAQ and User Guide.


Connect to EBSCOhost E-Books

EconLit

Oxford campus users only.EconLit indexes scholarly journal articles, books, dissertations, and working papers throughout the field of Economics. Topics covered include economic development, forecasting, history, fiscal and monetary theory, business and public finance, healthcare economics, and international, regional, and urban economics


Connect to EconLit

Economagic

A comprehensive collection of economic data on the web. Includes access to the Economagic database of over 100,000 economic time series, on-demand custom charts of all series in the database (gif or pdf format), Excel spreadsheets for 8,500 of the most popular series, and advanced features that enable users to work with database series online.


Connect to Economagic

Economia y Negocios

Economia y Negocios is the result of a collaborative effort between EBSCO Publishing and Universidad ESAN (Escuela de Administración de Negocios para Graduados). This bibliographic database is an indispensable tool for research conducted in the areas of business and economics. Search functionality is enhanced through the incorporation of author keywords supplied in Spanish and English. More than 84,500 records, dating back to the early 1980s, provide coverage for more than 340 Spanish and Portuguese-language periodicals published in Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Spain, the United States and elsewhere. Titles include Revista de la CEPAL, Revista de Administraçao, Estudios Empresariales, and AgroEconómico.


Connect to Economia y Negocios

Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare

The complete texts of eleven major, historical editions of Shakespeare's works, the pre-Folio quartos, and many adaptations, burlesques, and sequels. Includes works from the First Folio to the Cambridge edition of 1863-6, twenty-four separate contemporary printings of individual plays (the quartos), selected apocrypha and related works, and more than 100 adaptations, sequels, and burlesques from the seventeenth, eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. Searchable by title, editor, and keywords in texts and cast lists and over all editions in EAS, a single edition, or a group of editions.


Connect to Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare

Education Full Text (Ebscohost)

Indexes over 500 English-language journals, monographs (1995 and later), and yearbooks covering all aspects of the field of education. Subject areas included are administration and supervision, preschool, elementary, secondary, higher, and adult education; counseling and personnel service, teaching methods, and curriculum. It also covers contemporary educational issues such as, government funding, instructional media, multicultural education, religious education, student counseling, competency-based testing, and information technology. The print version is titled Education Index.


Connect to Education Full Text (Ebscohost)

Education in Video

Education in Video provides a large and rich online collection of video available for the study of teaching methods and education theory. Upon completion, the collection will contain more than 1,000 video titles totaling 750 hours of teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms.


Connect to Education in Video

Education Research Complete

Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for over 1,500 journals, and full text for more than 750 of them. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. It also has the full text for over 100 monographs and numerous education-related conference papers.


Connect to Education Research Complete

eHRAF World Cultures

Oxford campus users only.eHRAF of Ethnography contains mostly primary source materials (mainly published books and articles), and includes some unpublished manuscripts and dissertations on selected cultures or societies representing all major regions of the world. This collection does not include all of the culture groups from the original HRAF files so be sure to consult the Encyclopedia of World Cultures if a culture group is not included in this collection. For additional help searching eHRAF, see http://www.yale.edu/hraf/userguides.html


Connect to eHRAF World Cultures

Eighteenth Century Collections Online

The Eighteenth Century Collections Online is a comprehensive digital collection of nearly 140,000 English-language titles covering all subjects published between 1701 and 1800 in the United Kingdom and North America (and including foreign-language titles printed in the UK). It allows both full-text searching of more than 33 million pages of material and sophisticated searches by subject, author, publisher, and back-of-the-book indexes


Connect to Eighteenth Century Collections Online

Eighteenth Century Fiction

Eighteenth Century Fiction contains the complete text of 96 works of English prose fiction from the period 1700-1780, by writers from the British Isles. All of the most widely-studied texts are in the database, alongside others long neglected or unavailable. First editions have been used unless considered unreliable. Authors include Burney, Defoe, Fielding, Haywood, Johnson, Lennox, Manley, Richardson, Frances Sheridan, Smollett, Sterne, and Swift.


Connect to Eighteenth Century Fiction

Electronic Book Center (EBC)

The OhioLINK Electronic Book Center contains scholarly and reference electronic books from ABC-Clio, Gale, Oxford University Press, Sage, and Springer. Also includes links to e-book collections at Oxford Reference Online, Safari Books Online, and Netlibrary. View a list of titles (with links) in the EBC.


Connect to Electronic Book Center (EBC)

Electronic Journal Center (EJC)

Provides the full text of electronic journals from specific publishers in the Sciences, and to a lesser extent in the Social Sciences, Arts, and Humanities. This collection consists of electronic journals from Elsevier, Blackwell, Kluwer, Springer-Verlag, Wiley, Sage, Project Muse, Oxford, Cambridge, and others. The Electronic Journal Center (EJC) also provides notification via email about new relevant articles according to subject, author, or journal title.


Connect to Electronic Journal Center (EJC)

Electronic Reference Books (ABC-CLIO)

Electronic Reference Books (ABC-CLIO) is a collection of reference books - encyclopedias, handbooks, biographical collections, guides - on many specialized topics from ABC-CLIO, an educational reference publisher.


Connect to Electronic Reference Books (ABC-CLIO)

Electronic Theses and Dissertations Center (ETD)

Doctoral dissertations and master's theses from 13 Ohio institutions are now submitted and stored in electronic form and are freely available to the public. The papers are added to the database as they are approved by the departments accepting them. Several institutions are also submitting undergraduate honors theses as well. To find dissertations you can browse by author's last name and by institution/department, or search by author, title, subject, or keyword.


Connect to Electronic Theses and Dissertations Center (ETD)

eLS: Citable Reviews in the Life Sciences

eLS features over 5,000 specially commissioned, peer-reviewed and citable articles in the life sciences. eLS articles are written by leaders in the field to provide comprehensive and authoritative coverage of each subject area. eLS is updated by approximately 400 articles per year, with new articles publishing on a monthly basis.Features include:

  • Topic browse spanning the life sciences from cell biology to ecology
  • Topic coverage reviewed by a distinguished international scientific advisory team
  • Overviews and Suggested Articles to help students learn about topics
  • Key Concepts explaining critical learning points for the reader
  • Open availability of Abstracts, Key Concepts and Keywords
  • Open availability of high-quality illustrations
  • Open availability of References and Further Reading
  • In-text hyperlinks directly linking related eLS articles
  • Article Glossaries
  • New and updated articles added on a monthly basis
  • Updated articles clearly linked to earlier versions

Connect to eLS: Citable Reviews in the Life Sciences

Encyclopaedia Judaica

Provides an exhaustive and organized overview of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel, from Rabbinic to modern Yiddish literature, from Kabbalah to "Americana" and from Zionism to the contribution of Jews to world cultures, Encyclopaedia Judaica, 2nd edition is important to scholars, general readers and students.


Connect to Encyclopaedia Judaica

Encyclopedia of Physics Demonstrations

Encyclopedia of Physics Demonstrations is a collection of 600 physics demonstrations available for viewing and downloading. Each video illustrates a particular principle of physics. The demonstrations are augmented by slow-motion photography and animation. Videos are available in RealVideo format and may be streamed or downloaded.


Connect to Encyclopedia of Physics Demonstrations

Encyclopedia of U.S.-Latin American Relations

Encyclopedia of U.S.-Latin American Relations is a comprehensive A to Z reference featuring more than 800 entries detailing the political, economic, and military interconnections between the United States and the countries of Latin America, including Mexico and the nations in Central America, the Caribbean, and South America.


Connect to Encyclopedia of U.S.-Latin American Relations

Energy & Power Source

Energy & Power Source offers cover-to-cover indexing from nearly 5,100 publications, including journals, monographs, magazines and trade publications, all directly dealing with energy industry-related issues. Hundreds of key energy-focused industry and market reports are also included. This database also features tens of thousands of additional energy industry articles, benchmarks and best practices, selected from thousands of trade and industry publications.


Connect to Energy & Power Source

Engineering Village

Use to access and search the Compendex and Geobase databases.


Connect to Engineering Village

English Poetry 600-1900

English Poetry Database provides full text access to over 4,400 poetry collections (160,000 poems by 1,350 poets listed in the New Cambridge Bibliography of English Literature). Excluded are English translations after 1800, verse drama, non-English language works, hymns after 1800, and unpublished poems or poems published in contemporary newspapers, magazines, or miscellanies, as well as writers once considered non-canonical. || Search by author, title, words-in-titles and in the full text of poems. || Complemented by the 20th Century English Poetry database and similar collections of American and African American poetry.


Connect to English Poetry 600-1900

English Prose Drama

A full text database of over 1,600 plays by 350 English authors from the 13th to the end of the 19th century, based on entries in the "New Cambridge Bibliography of English Literature." The database is searchable by author, title, specific fields such as cast list, genre, date of first performance, speaker, stage direction, etc. The editions chosen are usually contemporary with their authors. See also "English Verse Drama."


Connect to English Prose Drama

English Short Title Catalogue

The English Short Title Catalog (ESTC) catalogs and describes works printed in any language in England or its dependencies and works printed in English anywhere in the world, 1473 to the end of the eighteenth century. Simple and advanced searches are possible, using author, title, subject, imprint, and other features. Most of the items listed are available online in Early English Books Online, Eighteenth Century Collections Online, and Early American Imprints.


Connect to English Short Title Catalogue

English Verse Drama

English Verse Drama provides full text access to over 2,200 plays by 500 English authors (and 300 anonymous works) from the 13th to the end of the 19th century, based on entries in the "New Cambridge Bibliography of English Literature." Materials included are materials intended for the stage and wholly or primarily in verse. The database is searchable by author, title, and specific fields such as cast list, genre, date of first performance, speaker, stage direction, etc. The editions chosen are usually contemporary with their authors. See also "English Prose Drama."


Connect to English Verse Drama

Entrepreneurial Studies Source

Entrepreneurial Studies Source offers users full text for hundreds of periodicals and reference books, numerous case studies, thousands of company profiles and hundreds videos with transcripts and related articles from the Harvard Faculty Seminar Series and Vator.TV, one of the world's largest social network sites for high-tech entrepreneurs. This database can be utilized by students for their entrepreneurial assignments or case studies ranging from solo projects to major entrepreneurial undertakings.


Connect to Entrepreneurial Studies Source

Environment & Energy News

This resource includes five databases.

  • ClimateWire tracks the politics and policy on climate change issues, both nationally and globally, and is designed to provide comprehensive, daily coverage of all aspects of climate change issues. Published at 8 a.m. daily.
  • E & E Daily focuses on environmental and energy legislation in the U.S. Congress and is published every day Congress is in session at 7:30 a.m.
  • Greenwire covers how these issues play out in the courts, states and federal agencies, and is published 5 days a week at 1 p.m.
  • E & ENews PM is published daily at 4:30 p.m., and reports on late-breaking developments from Capitol Hill and elsewhere.
  • EnergyWire offers coverage of the business and political issues surrounding the rapidly expanding unconventional energy industry in the US and the world. Published at 9 a.m. daily.

Connect to Environment & Energy News

Environment Complete

Offers deep coverage in environmental aspects of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, and urban planning. Primary coverage is from 1975-present, with limited coverage from 1960.


Connect to Environment Complete

ERIC (Ebscohost)

The ERIC collection includes bibliographic records, with extensive abstracts, for more than 1.2 million items indexed since 1966, including journal articles, books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, and other education-related materials. ERIC currently indexes more than 600 journals. In addition, contributors have given ERIC permission to display more than 115,000 full-text materials in PDF format. These materials are generally part of the recent "grey literature" such as conference papers and reports, rather than journal articles and books. Older ERIC documents that are not free on the web are available on microfiche, but must be recalled from storage.Please note limited availability of full-text: ERIC has had to disable access to many full text PDFs due to security issues.   ERIC is currently re-scanning and replacing documents online.


Connect to ERIC (Ebscohost)

Essay & General Literature Index

Essay & General Literature Index offers access to tens of thousands of essays that are otherwise inaccessible. This database unlocks a wealth of information in thousands of collections and anthologies and features content in a wide array of fields including archaeology, architecture, classical studies, drama, folklore, political science, psychology, religion, women’s studies and more.


Connect to Essay & General Literature Index

Essential Science Indicators

ESI is a compilation of statistical information (publication, citation, and cites-per-paper counts) for scientists, institutions, countries, and journals. It is based on 10 years of Thomson Reuters data. The Essential Science Indicators Data Information Pages explains how Essential Science Indicators works using counting methods for articles and citations, time periods for counts, types of items counted, journals included, citation thresholds, name conflation, name variations, and rank orderings.


Connect to Essential Science Indicators

Ethnic NewsWatch

Interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Designed to provide the "other side of the story," ENW titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press


Connect to Ethnic NewsWatch

Ethnologue: Languages of the World

Ethnologue, 15th edition, provides comprehensive information about the known living languages of the world, currently some 7,300. Ethnologue information is organized by area and by country, with maps and information about speakers and uses of the languages, and a clear discussion of the issues involved in defining languages.


Connect to Ethnologue: Languages of the World

Europa World Plus

This database provides political and economic information for more than 250 countries and territories. Information includes regional and country profiles, information on physical and social geography, history, economy, and country and comparative statistics. Directory information for governmental, society, media, and business enterprises is also provided as is a bibliography.


Connect to Europa World Plus

European Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (EBSEES)

EBSEES lists books, journal articles, reviews and theses on Eastern Europe (formerly Communist countries) published in Western Europe. It includes documents, whether published in that country


Connect to European Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (EBSEES)

European Views of the Americas: 1493-1750

Based on the authoritative bibliography "European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed in Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750", this database is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. It covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of Native American peoples. A wide range of subject areas are covered; from natural disasters to disease outbreaks and slavery.


Connect to European Views of the Americas: 1493-1750