Databases : L

Displaying 1 - 23 of 23

L'Annee Philologique

10 simultaneous users.

L'Annee Philologique (APh) is a comprehensive, annual index of publications dealing with all aspects of Greco-Roman antiquity. Subjects included in this index are history, literature, art, religion, folklore, early Christian texts, papyrology, and science. LPh covers articles written about the time periods beginning in the second century BC to 800 AD. APh references are multilingual and compiled from journals, festschriften, books, essays, editions of ancient texts, dissertations, and book reviews. Access subjects by classical author and text or by broad subjects (in French). An index of authors and of ancient names of locations/people is also included.


Connect to L'Annee Philologique

LANDSAT 7 Satellite Image Server

The LANDSAT 7 Satellite Image Server includes all Ohio based satellite data captured by Landsat 7 since the first data sets were available in 1999. A new 'snapshot'of the state is captured every 16 days and includes images with 30% or less cloud cover. The LANDSAT 7 satellite images are available in True-Color Composite, High-Resolution Monochrome, NDVI, and Near-Infrared Composite formats. Advanced users can download images in raw GeoTIFF format via FTP.


Connect to LANDSAT 7 Satellite Image Server

LandScan

LandScan is a unique data set showing population distribution, developed by the Department of Energy’s Oak Ridge National Laboratory. The data represents ambient population (combined for night and day) at one-kilometer resolution. Details of age and gender are also provided at certain geographic scales. The data can be limited by state, country, region, or global level. A search can also be customized based on individually defined pixel points. Only the latest data is provided; the producers do not attempt to display comparative data over time.


Connect to LandScan

Latin American Women Writers

Latin American Women Writers contains full-text prose, poetry and drama by Latin American Women. Authors are from Mexico and South and Central America. Materials are in Spanish and Portuguese as well as French, Italian and English.


Connect to Latin American Women Writers

Latino Literature

Contains the full text of poetry, fiction, and drama written in English and Spanish by hundreds of Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican, and other Latin authors working in the United States.


Connect to Latino Literature

Learning Express Library

LearningExpress Library offers access to targeted skill-building interactive courses in math, reading, and writing, as well as hundreds of online interactive practice tests that prepare them for several types of exams including grade school achievement tests, the SAT, GED, U.S. Citizenship, and civil service positions. Complete answer explanations accompany each response so that patrons understand why a particular answer is correct or incorrect. All practice tests include instant diagnostic score reports that help patrons to target those skill areas that need the most attention. To help students master the SAT and recently added essay, instant score reports provide immediate feedback on how well they performed in each of five writing skill areas. To take a test at LearningExpress Library, you first set up your own individual account.

Note: You must set up your account while at an authenticating site (on campus or at an Ohio public library or school). Thereafter, the account is accessible from anywhere.


Connect to Learning Express Library

Left Index

5 simultaneous users.

Citations & abstracts some with full text cover a diversity of literature including scholarly journals, radical periodicals, books, book reviews, book chapters, theses & dissertations, bulletins, newsletters, internet documents and numerous other sources on the Left. Several thousand links to freely available and indexed full-text articles and documents on the web are now available.


Connect to Left Index

Legal Collection

Indexing and abstracts are provided for 250 scholarly publications on legal topics. Most titles are full-text, and some titles go back as far as 1965, but most do not. Our other full-text law collections do not have subject headings.


Connect to Legal Collection

Letopis zhurnal'nykh statei

Digital version of the Soviet index to journals, covering more than 1,700 publications in the fields of the humanities, natural sciences, and the social sciences for the period from 1956 to 1975. Letopis' Zhurnal'nykh Statei provides access to the periodical literature of an essential time in modern Russian history, beginning with the period of the Khrushchev "Thaw" following the 20th CPSU Congress and continuing through the first half of the so-called Brezhnev "Period of Stagnation". The site was created by Indiana University.


Connect to Letopis zhurnal'nykh statei

LexisNexis (ProQuest) Congressional

ProQuest Congressional offers information and primary-source documents by and about the United States Congress. It indexes Congressional publications from 1789 to the present and provides access to CIS Legislative Histories for public laws (1970-). Full text is available for many publications including testimony from congressional hearings (1824-Present); committee reports (1817-Present); bill texts and status (1989-); Statutes at Large/U.S. Code (1789-); Congressional Serial Set (1789-2003); Federal Register (1980-); and the Congressional Record, including the Annals of Congress (1789-1997). It also provides information about members and committees.


Connect to LexisNexis (ProQuest) Congressional

LexisNexis General (includes Business & Legal)

LexisNexis is an outstanding source for researching news, business, and legal topics. It contains more than 6,000 sources from all over the world, drawn from print, broadcast, and online media. Use the Easy Search form if you just need a quick answer to a simple query, you're not familiar with advanced searching methods, or you're not sure which sources to use. Enter any terms or phrases, with or without connectors, and Easy Search will determine the best searching method (terms and connectors or natural language) based on what you entered.


Connect to LexisNexis General (includes Business & Legal)

LexisNexis News

LexisNexis is an outstanding source for researching news, business, and legal topics. It contains more than 6,000 sources from all over the world, drawn from print, broadcast, and online media. Use the News form to search across large groups of sources such as all English-language news or all U.S. newspapers, or select one of the individual titles included in the drop-down list such as The New York Times (more titles are available on the Sources tab).


Connect to LexisNexis News

LexisNexis People

Biographical information about individuals from news sources, legal, government, business directories, and "who's who" resources.


Connect to LexisNexis People

LGBT Life with Full Text

Indexes Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender issues and topics related to civil liberties, culture, employment, family, history, politics, psychology, religion, sociology and more. LGBT Life includes archival and current content in the area of LGBT studies and includes some full-text.


Connect to LGBT Life with Full Text

LGBT Thought and Culture

LGBT Thought and Culture is an online resource hosting the key works and archival documentation of LGBT political and social movements throughout the 20th century and into the present day. The collection includes materials ranging from seminal texts, letters, periodicals, speeches, interviews, and ephemera covering the political evolution of gay rights to memoirs, biographies, poetry, and works of fiction that illuminate the lives of lesbian, gay, transgender, and bisexual individuals and the community.


Connect to LGBT Thought and Culture

Library Music Source

Library Music Source contains over 300,000 pages of sheet music from over 35,000 works including the entire piano works of Chopin, all the songs of Schubert, all the organ music of J. S. Bach, and all the orchestra parts and scores of Beethoven. Sheet music is available for woodwinds, strings, brass, percussion, keyboard, guitar, harp, solo voice, chorus, and other miscellaneous instruments.


Connect to Library Music Source

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts with Full Text

LISTA indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, researchreports and proceedings related to librarianship. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management, search engines, printed and electronic information sources, the information industry, scholarly communication, and electronic publishing. With coverage extending back to 1966, it is the oldest continuously produced database covering the field of information science.


Connect to Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts with Full Text

Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)

Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations.


Connect to Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)

Literary Reference Center

Literary Reference Center is a comprehensive database that provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. LRC combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing. LRC includes:

  • plot summaries, synopses and work overviews
  • articles of literary criticism
  • full text of literary journals
  • author biographies
  • book reviews
  • author interviews
  • and images of key literary figures

LRC also includes full text of selected classic and contemporary poems and short stories. Full text of classic novels is anticipated by Fall 2006. As reference material, LRC includes full text of a number of literary encyclopedia and guides.


Connect to Literary Reference Center

Literary Reference Center Plus

Literary Reference Center Plus is a comprehensive, full text database that provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. LRC combines information from major respected reference works, books, and literary journals, as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing.LRC includes:

  • plot summaries, synopses and work overviews
  • articles of literary criticism
  • full text of literary journals and magazines
  • full text essays and literary reference books
  • author biographies
  • book reviews
  • poems
  • author interviews
  • images of key literary figures

Connect to Literary Reference Center Plus

Literature Criticism Online

Online compilation of the Gale Literary Criticism Series. Provides access to criticism (excerpts or full-text) published from an author's own time to the present as well as biographical information and some historical context. The criticism includes scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books, and journals. Includes three collections: Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, and Short Story Criticism.


Connect to Literature Criticism Online

Literature Resource Center

Designed for undergraduate students, this contains information on literary figures from all time periods writing in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more, drawn from these sources: Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism (starting with vol. 95), and Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature. In addition it provides selected full-text, excerpted critical materials, articles from 260 literary journals, and links to selected websites.


Connect to Literature Resource Center

Literature, Culture and Society in Depression Era America

Archives of the Federal Writers' Project. The Federal Writers’ Project (FWP) was part of Federal One, the arts project established by the Works Progress Administration (WPA). The WPA recognized that steelworkers, sharecroppers and factory workers were not the only section of the American economy hit by the Depression. Academics, novelists and playwrights were also struggling. In five years, the WPA spent millions to provide literary training and, more significantly, the opportunity for participants to observe, eat and write. This collection presents the FWP publications of all 47 states involved in the 10-year project.


Connect to Literature, Culture and Society in Depression Era America