Databases : M

Displaying 1 - 28 of 28

March of Time

With its first appearance on American motion picture screens in February 1935, The March of Time startled journalists, filmmakers, and audiences alike with its controversial topics and unique approach to newsreels. The "issues", as the newsreels were called, were a blend of confrontational journalism and docudrama, often using actors to stage events that had not been photographed on newsreel cameras. The series began with brief segments in the 1930s and eventually grew in length and scope to television programs of in-depth coverage of a single topic. Though extremely popular worldwide, the series eventually ceded viewers to the popularity of television programming, ending movie theatre presentations in 1951 and airing its last television segment in 1967.


Connect to March of Time

Marketline (Datamonitor)

Marketline consists of full-text research reports on 10,000 companies in the US and internationally, as well as 2,000 industry reports and 50 in-depth country reports. It also includes a news and comment section with a two year archive of relevant articles.


Connect to Marketline (Datamonitor)

Marquis' Who's Who on the Web

10 simultaneous users; Oxford and Middletown campus users only.

Brief biographical information for nearly 1.3 million prominent people from the United States and around the world, both past and present, and from every significant field of endeavor. The online database includes 23 of the Marquis titles, including Who's Who in America, Who Was Who in America, from sections of the country, and from the areas of business, law, science, medicine, the arts, government, entertainment, and sports.


Connect to Marquis' Who's Who on the Web

MAS Ultra: School Edition (for high school students)

MAS Ultra: School Edition (for high school students) provides full text from over 515 periodicals covering general reference, health, science, and other areas. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for 581 magazines. Full text is also available for many biographies and primary source documents, pamphlets, reference books (including the Columbia Encyclopedia, the CIA World Fact Book and World Almanac & Book of Facts), and an Image Collection of 91,000 photos, maps & flags.


Connect to MAS Ultra: School Edition (for high school students)

MasterFILE Premier

Designed specifically for public libraries, MasterFILE Premier provides indexing for a much smaller number of magazines, but full-text for a larger percentage of them. It includes full text of some reference and travel books, including book reviews, biographies, a dictionary, and a collection of images.


Connect to MasterFILE Premier

MathSciNet

MathSciNet provides coverage of the international research literature in mathematics as well as mathematically-related research in computer science, statistics, econometrics, and other disciplines. MathSciNet includes reviews from journal articles, books, conference proceedings, and proceedings papers. The database also includes reviews from Current Mathematical Publications which are updated daily.


Connect to MathSciNet

McGuffey Readers Database

The Miami University Libraries' collection of 336 McGuffey Readers range from Primer to Word List. Some readers lack title page, date of publication, or publishers. A catalog of the readers can be searched by year of publication and reader level.


Connect to McGuffey Readers Database

Mediamark (MRI+)

Mediamark is a database of US consumer survey data that provides information on who consumes what, and connects that to the consumers' demographics and media usage. It also is a source of market share data. 

Instructions on logging in and using this product.


Connect to Mediamark (MRI+)

MedicLatina

Spanish language collection of medical research and investigative journals published by Latin American medical publishers. This database provides access to full text for nearly 100 peer-reviewed medical journals in native Spanish. The majority of full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. A wide range of topics are covered including neuroscience, cardiology, nephrology, biomedicine, clinical research, pediatrics, human reproduction, clinical pathology, cancer research, and hematology.


Connect to MedicLatina

MEDLINE

MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, biomedical engineering, the health care system, and the basic biomedical sciences. MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 5,000 biomedical journals published in the United States and 80 other countries. The database contains over 15 million citations dating back to the mid-1950's. Coverage is worldwide, but most records are from English-language sources or have English abstracts. Journal articles are indexed for MEDLINE using NLM's subject heading system, MeSH (Medical Subject Headings). 

Additional information is available online.


Connect to MEDLINE

Mental Measurements Yearbook

Oxford campus users only.

Mental Measurements Yearbook contains information about English-language standardized tests, covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas, which are covered in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbooks from the 9th edition (1985) to the current one. Information about each test includes the test author, publication and scoring information, the number of the Mental Measurements Yearbook in which the test was originally described, an overview of the test, and the full text of one or more reviews. 

For pre-1985 editions, see BEST Library Reference BF176.B87.


Connect to Mental Measurements Yearbook

Mergent BondViewer

Mergent’s BondViewer includes US taxable and municipal fixed income and evaluation data. It contains both issuer and bond level terms and condition data, US taxable bonds, municipal bonds, and retail notes. Data is available for over 2.3 million municipal securities and 232,000 US taxable securities (which includes over 16,000 retail notes programs), and provides information on corporate taxable bonds, municipal bonds, corporate bond reports, corporate offering documents, and yields and averages.


Connect to Mergent BondViewer

Mergent Online

Mergent is a source for in-depth financial data on 15,000 US and 20,000 international publicly held companies. Information provided for each company includes a business description, history, company financials, property, subsidiaries, officers and directors, long-term debt and capital stock data, as well as historical stock price data. Financial data for the last 15 years is available, as well as the latest 5-10 years of annual reports. Company archives include data on inactive companies back to 1996.  Mergent also now has an economic module which contains time series data on 550 US and international economic variables.


Connect to Mergent Online

Mergent Web Reports

This database contains the entire run of all Mergent and Moody’s Corporate Manuals, including Bank & Finance, Industrial, International, OTC Industrial, Public Utility, Transportation, Municipal & Government Manual, and OTC Unlisted. In many cases these range from the early 1900s to the present. The latest editions are added annually. Each manual is available in full-text in PDF format and the collection is searchable by company name, year, or manual type.


Connect to Mergent Web Reports

Middle and Junior High Core Collection

Oxford campus users only.

For libraries serving readers in grades five through nine, this catalog provides indispensable help with collection development and maintenance, curriculum support, selection and purchasing, readers' advisory, and general reference. There are entries for nonfiction works, fiction and collections for children and adolescents, plus review sources and other professional aids for librarians and school media specialists. Entries provide complete bibliographic data, price, subject headings, a descriptive annotation, and evaluative quotations from a review when available.


Connect to Middle and Junior High Core Collection

Middle East Online Series 1: Arab-Israeli Relations, 1917-1970

Series 1 offers a wide range of original source material from the Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers from the 1917 Balfour Declaration through to the Black September war of 1970-1. Here major policy statements are set out in their fullest context, the minor documents and marginalia revealing the workings of colonial administration and, following the creation of the State of Israel in 1948, British diplomacy towards Israel and the Arab states. Topics covered include the background to the establishment of the State of Israel as a Jewish national home, Black September, Jewish terror groups, and more.


Connect to Middle East Online Series 1: Arab-Israeli Relations, 1917-1970

Middle East Online Series 2: Iraq, 1914-1974

Series 2 offers a broad range of original source material from the Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers covering the period from the Anglo-Indian landing in Basra in 1914 through the British Mandate in Iraq of 1920-32 to the rise of Saddam Hussein in 1974. Here major policy statements and other working documents are set out in context, the minor documents and marginalia revealing the workings of the mandate administration, diplomacy, treaties, oil and arms dealing. Photographs and color maps, as well as contemporary film, help bring this vital strand of modern history to life. Topics covered include the British administration in Baghdad, the Arab uprising of 1920, Iran-Iraq relations, and more.


Connect to Middle East Online Series 2: Iraq, 1914-1974

Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies

Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies is a systematic and non-evaluative bibliographic index of research, policy and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa. This database contains more than 639,000 records and coverage spans from 1900 (and earlier) to the present. Over 15,000 records of recently published and grey literature are added annually. Middle Eastern and Central Asian Studies includes the following: Middle East Bibliography (1946-2001), Middle East Book Bibliographies, Theses & Dissertations, MECAS Citations Database, and School of Oriental & African Studies (SOAS) Library Catalogue (1900-present).


Connect to Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies

Middle Search Plus

Middle Search Plus (for middle school students) provides full text from over 140 popular middle school magazines. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for over 170 magazines. Full text is also available for biographies, historical essays and student pamphlets. Additionally, Middle Search Plus contains primary source documents including Essential Documents in American History and reference books including Funk & Wagnall's New Encyclopedia and American Heritage.


Connect to Middle Search Plus

Mideastwire

5 simultaneous users.

A daily email newsletter of concise, translated briefs covering some of the key political, cultural, economic and opinion pieces appearing in the media of the 22 Arab countries, Iran and the Arab Diaspora.


Connect to Mideastwire

MLA Directory of Periodicals

The MLA Directory of Periodicals lists over 4,400 periodicals in the areas of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore that are covered regularly in the MLA International Bibliography. The directory provides addresses, submmission requirements, and submission details (such as acceptance rate and number of reviewers).


Connect to MLA Directory of Periodicals

MLA International Bibliography

An index to scholarly articles, books and book chapters, and dissertations published internationally on modern (Medieval to today) languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics (including composition and rhetoric since 2000). Coverage has varied but now includes literature from all over the world--Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America. Folklore is represented by folk literature, music, art, rituals, and belief systems. Linguistics and language materials range from history and theory of linguistics, comparative linguistics, semantics, stylistics, and syntax to translation. Other topics include literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), and history of printing and publishing. Works exclusively on classical Greek and Latin literatures are excluded. EBSCO coverage starts with 1926; the print edition starts with 1921. See also Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature.


Connect to MLA International Bibliography

MLA Literary Research Guide (6th edition)

The Literary Research Guide is a selective, annotated guide to reference sources essential to the study of British literature, literatures of the United States, other literatures in English, and related topics. It contains over 1,000 entries, including electronic resources, and is updated regularly.


Connect to MLA Literary Research Guide (6th edition)

Morgan Bibliography of Ohio Imprints, 1796-1850

The bibliography describes books, pamphlets, and broadsides printed in Ohio and includes names of libraries that own copies of these historical materials to aid in locating originals. Through a partnership with the American Antiquarian Society, Worcester, Massachusetts, many titles formerly owned by the Morgan Library are now in the AAS collections. The Morgan Library of Ohio Imprints is also compiling an Ohio Name and Institution Index of those names and institutions mentioned in the imprints.


Connect to Morgan Bibliography of Ohio Imprints, 1796-1850

Motif Index of Folk Literature

Based on the work of Stith Thompson, this Motif Index classifies and indexes motifs (such as characters, actions, or events) in folk literature. Use the Motif Index to identify published books of folk literature in which the motifs appear. Topf find scholarly articles and books about folk literature, use the MLA International Bibliography.


Connect to Motif Index of Folk Literature

Mountain People: Life and Culture in Appalachia

Since its recognition as a distinctive region in the late 19th century, Appalachia has been a source of enduring myths and distortions regarding the isolation, temperament and behavior of its inhabitants. Early 20th-century writers focused on sensational aspects, such as moonshining and clan feuding, and often portrayed the region’s inhabitants as uneducated and prone to impulsive acts of violence.The story as depicted in this collection begins in the colonial era, describing the bloody warfare as migrants from Europe and their American-born offspring fought and eventually displaced Appalachia’s Native American inhabitants. It depicts the evolution of a farm- and forest-society, its divided and unhappy fate during the Civil War and the emergence of a new industrial order as railroads, towns and mining industries penetrated into the mountains. Diaries, journals and narratives of explorers, emigrants, military men, Native Americans and travelers are complemented by accounts of the development of farming and mining communities, family histories and folklore.


Connect to Mountain People: Life and Culture in Appalachia

Music Index Online

Oxford campus users only.

Music Index Online is a basic index for searching for music topics in more than 690 international journals. Articles on musicology, music education, ethnomusicology, and popular music are included, along with book reviews, record reviews, first performances, obituaries, and some dissertations.


Connect to Music Index Online

Musical America.Com

1 simultaneous user.

Business source for music that includes music industry news, a database featuring artists and artist managers, links to venues and presenters, a complete directory of arts organizations, and more.


Connect to Musical America.Com