Databases : N

Displaying 1 - 20 of 20

Nation Archive

1 simultaneous user; Oxford campus users only.

The Nation is an important clearinghouse of primary source material in America and around the world. The Nation Digital Archive makes it possible for researchers to access 14 decades of America's best alternative journalism in ways never before possible. The archive includes perspectives on news, politics, and culture from writers, artists, novelists, and playwrights.


Connect to Nation Archive

National Academies Press E-Books

The National Academies Press (NAP) was created by the National Academies to publish the reports issued by the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council, all operating under a charter granted by the Congress of the United States. The NAP publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and health, capturing the most authoritative views on important issues in science and health policy. 

Note: In order to download PDF e-books at the site, you will be asked to create a free account at the time of your first download.


Connect to National Academies Press E-Books

National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts

National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts provides thousands of summaries of important law enforcement and criminal justice publications including books, government reports, research reports, journals, and unpublished research. Content dates range from 1970 to the present. All documents covered are either written in English or have an English-language summary. To facilitate research, the databases also includes a subject-specific thesaurus.


Connect to National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts

National Journal

The weekly National Journal is one of the most important sources for coverage and analysis of politics, public policy, and government. Also available are The Hotline, a daily news briefing on politics and campaigns; Congress Daily, twice daily coverage of Congress when in session with information on behind-the-scenes strategies and alliances and key issues; Poll Track, a database of recent national opinion polls on campaigns and issues; the Almanac of American Politics, containing profiles on members of Congress; Markup Reports on congressional committee actions and votes; and Technology Daily, covering the politics and policy issues affecting the information technology industry.


Connect to National Journal

National Resource Center for the First-Year Experience & Students in Transition

The Center was founded in 1986 to support efforts to improve students' transition into higher education through conferences and publications. The site has the text of their newsletter and journal, Journal of the First-Year Experience & Students in Transition.


Connect to National Resource Center for the First-Year Experience & Students in Transition

National Review Archive Publications

Oxford campus users only.

Republican/conservative news, commentary, and opinion.


Connect to National Review Archive Publications

Natural & Alternative Treatments

Natural & Alternative Treatments provides in-depth analysis of more than 200 distinct health conditions and the natural treatments used to treat them. Evidence-based, this database cites more than 12,000 clinical research studies across 700 articles containing information on medical conditions, alternative therapies, herbs and supplements, functional foods, drug interactions and homeopathy.


Connect to Natural & Alternative Treatments

Nature

Provides full text search capabilities for many of the publications of the Nature Publishing Group ranging from the basic journal Nature to specific pharmaceutical, medical, ecological, biological titles. Click here for a list of NPG titles subscribed to by Miami University Libraries.


Connect to Nature

Naxos Music Library

5 simultaneous users.

Adobe Flash is the default player for Naxos Music Library, and is available here.

Naxos Music Library includes the complete Naxos, Marco Polo and Dacapo catalogs including classical, jazz, world, and folk music. It allows for online listening and access to biographical information on composers and performers as well as program notes on the works being played. 


Connect to Naxos Music Library

New Republic Archive

Oxford campus users only.

The New Republic, founded in 1914, is one of the country's leading journals of opinion on politics and the arts. The database features award-winning writers and critics from many fields and from most political viewpoints.


Connect to New Republic Archive

New World Cinema: Independent Features & Shorts, 1990-Present

This collection includes approximately 200 full-length feature films from leading independent distributors such as Kino Lorber, First Run Features, Film Movement, MK2, and Global Lens. There are also some 50 award winning short films. All films were presented at major film festivals, many were nominated for awards, and many have won major awards. Films include the Oscar-nominated Twilight Samurai, directed by Yoji Yamada, Oscar-nominated The Scent of Green Papaya, directed by Tran Anh Hung, Oscar-nominated Dogtooth, directed by Yorgos Lanthimos, and Cannes Grand Jury Prize winner The Piano Teacher, directed by Michael Haneke. Collectively the films in the database have won more than 1,000 awards.


Connect to New World Cinema: Independent Features & Shorts, 1990-Present

New York Times

Oxford campus users only.

The New York Times subscription includes daily access to all online content except for the crossword.

First time users must register while on the Oxford campus:

  1. Go to nytimes.com/grouppass.
  2. Create a NYTimes.com account using your school e-mail address. If you already have a NYTimes.com account using your school e-mail address, you may log in with those credentials. When you see START YOUR ACCESS, the expiration time and date of your pass will appear.
  3. Go to NYTimes.com and enjoy full access from any location.
  4. You will need to renew your access every 6 months, as prompted by the NYT. 

Additional information is available online.


New York Times Historical

Full text of the complete run of New York Times from 1851 to three years ago, with page images, individual articles, ads, and illustrationss in downloadable PDF. It includes, and is searchable by, display and classified ads, cartoons, photos, maps, graphics, etc., editorials, obituaries, and commentary, as well as articles.


Connect to New York Times Historical

Newspaper Source

Provides cover-to-cover full text for 25 national and international newspapers, selected articles from over 260 regional U.S. papers, and some television and radio news transcripts, in addition to indexing for a far larger number of papers.


Connect to Newspaper Source

North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories

Personal narratives including letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral histories. Much of the material is previously unpublished. Included are several thousand pages of Ellis Island Oral History interviews. In selected cases, users will be able to hear the actual audio voices of the immigrants. Content includes perspectives both on North America and on the immigrants.


Connect to North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories

North American Indian Drama

Contains 93 plays by 18 playwrights, together with detailed information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. Continuously updated, when complete the North American Indian Drama will contain the full text of 250 plays written from the early 1900s to the present by more than 50 playwrights. Many of the works are rare, hard-to-find, or out of print. Nearly a quarter of the collection will consist of previously unpublished plays. Each play is extensively indexed, allowing both keyword and multi-fielded searching. The plays are accompanied by reference materials, significant ancillary information, a rich performance database, and images rsulting in a collection that illustrates the many purposes that theater has served. Also includes the "Native Playwrights' Newsletter" (1993-96) a unique resource containing original essays, articles, photographs, interviews, reviews, and production information related to the plays. 


Connect to North American Indian Drama

North American Indian Thought and Culture

This fifth release of North American Indian Thought and Culture contains over 119,000 pages of text and images. Included are biographies, auto-biographies, personal narratives, speeches, diaries, letters, and oral histories. The database represents the largest compilation ever created of biographical information on indigenous peoples from all areas of North America.


Connect to North American Indian Thought and Culture

North American Theatre Online

Provides information about plays, productions, playwrights and theater actors, companies, designers,and directors of North America. It links to texts of 5,000 plays and related information included in Asian American Drama, Black Drama, Latino Literature, North American Indian Drama, North American Women's Drama, Theatre in Video, and Twentieth-Century North American Drama. Continuously updated with new plays and information and productions and theater people. It includes some 40,000 pages of major reference materials, together with records to more than 30,000 plays, over 57,000 people, 5,400 theatres, nearly 22,000 productions and 2,500 production companies, and some 10,500 images, playbills, postcards, scrapbooks and other resources.


Connect to North American Theatre Online

North American Women's Drama

Full text of over 1,000 plays by 67 playwrights, with information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. A work in progress, when complete the collection will include more than 1,500 plays, of which some 20% have never been published before. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.


Connect to North American Women's Drama

North American Women's Letters and Diaries

Unpublished and published sources of women's diaries and correspondence. They provide a detailed record of what women wore, the conditions under which they worked, what they ate, what they read, and how they amused themselves. One can see how frequently they attended church, how they viewed their connection to God, and how they prayed as well as explore their relationships with lovers and family and friends. Added indexes include places, personal events, and author characteristics.


Connect to North American Women's Letters and Diaries