Databases : O

Displaying 1 - 17 of 17

Ohio Capitol Connection

Ohio Capitol Connection provides access to comprehensive Ohio state legislative and governmental information from current and previous general assemblies. Other features include the status of bills (updated daily), the full text of amendments, analyses, and fiscal impact statements, the text of court opinions, and a full text search of all databases. OCC provides links to government information throughout Ohio and the United States.


Connect to Ohio Capitol Connection

OhioLINK Music Center

The OhioLINK Music Center features more than 78,000 tracks and 21,000 works from the Naxos Music Library. Users can search for and listen to tracks in six genres -- Chinese music, classical music, opera, jazz, spoken word and world music, with works from many well-known composers, including Bach, Handel, Beethoven, Chopin, Strauss, Copland, and Ellington. Access to the music files is restricted to the students, faculty and staff of OhioLINK member institutions. 

Flash player is required.


Connect to OhioLINK Music Center

OneSource

100 simultaneous users.

OneSource is a comprehensive business database, providing US and international company and industry information. This source includes company financial data and corporate family trees, information on competitors, SWOT analyses, and analysts reports.


Connect to OneSource

Oxford African American Studies Center

5 simultaneous users.

Contains a comprehensive collection of scholarship focused on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture. Features over 7,500 articles from Oxford's reference works, approximately 100 primary sources with specially written commentaries, over 1,000 images, over 100 maps, over 200 charts and tables, timelines to guide researchers through the history of African Americans and over 6,000 biographies.


Connect to Oxford African American Studies Center

Oxford Art Online

3 simultaneous users.

Grove Art Online contains more than 45,000 articles on every aspect of the visual arts - painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography - from prehistory to the present day. It contains the full-text of the The Dictionary of Art, considered the landmark encyclopedia of world art. It also includes all 2,800 articles from The Oxford Companion to Western Art. In addition, Grove Art Online provides digital access to over 200,000 searchable images through three collections: Art Resource, Bridgeman Art Library, and Art Image Links. Topical coverage of Grove Art Online is very broad, and includes extensive biographies of artists in all visual media, and articles on major styles and forms, criticism, cultures and civilizations, iconography, materials, and movements.


Connect to Oxford Art Online

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Childhood Studies

From psychology to labor rights, from ethics to education, Childhood Studies is one of the most active fields in academia today. It encompasses the meanings that adults place on children’s innocence or competence, and interrogates the notion of childhood as a social category. How adults have thought about children and the impact that this has had on the ways children are treated are also analyzed critically and great emphasis is placed on historical, cultural and literary interpretations of childhood. Contemporary Childhood Studies is also characterized by its insistence on the need for children themselves to be understood as the best informants of their own lives. Childhood Studies is international and cross-cultural in scope, transcending narrow geographical confines and analyzing modern and historical childhoods both locally and globally.


Connect to Oxford Bibliographies Online: Childhood Studies

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Cinema and Media Studies

Cinema and media studies includes a dizzying array of subfields: film history, television studies, media studies, critical theory, visual arts, cultural studies, digital culture, game studies, popular culture, and the study of the moving image. Because the boundaries of the discipline are continuously debated and because technology is constantly changing, students and scholars find it difficult if not impossible to keep up with all the literature in their areas of expertise. Even familiar subjects such as a national cinema or the work of a canonical filmmaker are becoming less familiar as new approaches and new research redefine the field. Oxford Bibliographies in Cinema and Media Studies has recruited many of the finest scholars in cinema and media studies to chart a path through the information thicket and toward a carefully organized, thoroughly peer-reviewed account of the most important books, articles, and Web sites.


Connect to Oxford Bibliographies Online: Cinema and Media Studies

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Communication

The study of communication is a multidisciplinary effort to understand the constant, varied, and complex transmission and exchange of information, knowledge, and ideas. The extensive nature of communication means that efforts to study it span multiple epistemologies and methodologies. Also, given the changing media landscape, scholars and professionals must constantly consider new content, technologies, processes and effects, and theories of communication. The overlapping domains of communication make it challenging to stay informed about every applicable area. A great deal of this work has moved online with the most recent scholarship, research, and statistics appearing in online databases. Oxford Bibliographies in Communication will provide much-needed guidance for students and scholars at every level.


Connect to Oxford Bibliographies Online: Communication

Oxford Bibliographies Online: International Relations

International relations traditionally referred to the study of foreign affairs and political interaction between states. Today, the field covers the whole complex of cultural, economic, legal, military, and political relations of all states and their component populations, as well as non-state actors and international organizations. Research and scholarship in this area has an important impact our understanding of the past and of current events. Rather than sifting through these ever-expanding mountains of information that may or may not yield relevant results, students and researchers alike can rely on Oxford Bibliographies in International Relations to offer a reliable, up-to-date, and authoritative guide to the best literature in the field.


Connect to Oxford Bibliographies Online: International Relations

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Islamic Studies

The field of Islamic Studies is both wide-reaching and dynamic. It includes the range of foundational documents, traditions, institutions, and history of Muslims in various countries and regions throughout the world from the origins of Islam to the present day. This interdisciplinary field therefore includes history, religion, philosophy, anthropology, Arabic language and literature, as well as literatures in other languages including Persian, Turkish, and Urdu, and remains responsive to new discoveries, interpretations, ideologies and theories. Oxford Bibliographies in Islamic Studies presents a guided tour through the key literature on each topic, providing context for its development, and a balanced overview of the major issues within a given topic.


Connect to Oxford Bibliographies Online: Islamic Studies

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Latin American Studies

Though the scholarly study of Latin America, a region of 20 countries and over 569 million people, is not new, the bringing together of various disciplinary approaches according to a single geographic region represents a fairly recent shift. Latin American studies includes a vast range of disciplinary perspectives, including history, sociology, economics, anthropology, and political science. Area studies in general have proliferated in the latter half of the twentieth century and Latin American studies in particular has been propelled forward as a distinct field of study by major international changes, such as the end of the Cold War. Oxford Bibliographies in Latin American studies offers more than other bibliography initiatives on- and offline by providing expert commentary to help users find, negotiate, and assess the large amount of information readily available to them.


Connect to Oxford Bibliographies Online: Latin American Studies

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography

1 simultaneous user.

Contains 55,000 biographies of noteworthy people from all walks of life in the British past, including artists, scientists, writers, industrialists, performers, explorers, criminals, and eccentrics as well as politicians, church leaders, and soldiers, mariners, doctors, and lawyers. To search click on "Subscribers enter here" in the upper right corner.


Connect to Oxford Dictionary of National Biography

Oxford English Dictionary Online

The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) attempts to chronicle the origin and use of words in the English language. Important features include quotations showing uses of words in different time periods, extensive etymologies and word histories, and a program of regular, continuing revision. This is the largest English dictionary in both number of words defined and information given for each word. 


Connect to Oxford English Dictionary Online

Oxford Handbooks Online: Political Science

2 simultaneous users.

Oxford Handbooks in Political Science bring together the world's leading scholars to discuss research and the latest thinking in a range of major topics in political science. Containing specially-commissioned essays with extensive referencing to further reading, the handbooks offer both thorough introductions to topics in the discipline, and a useful reference resource for scholars and advanced students.


Connect to Oxford Handbooks Online: Political Science

Oxford Islamic Studies Online

Oxford Islamic Studies Online features reference content and commentary by renowned scholars in areas such as global Islamic history, concepts, people, practices, politics, and culture, and is regularly updated as new content is commissioned and approved under the guidance of the Editor in Chief, John L. Esposito. Encompassing over 5,000 A–Z reference entries, chapters from scholarly and introductory works, Qur'anic materials, primary sources, images, maps, and timelines, Oxford Islamic Studies Online offers a multi-layered reference experience designed to provide a first stop for anyone needing information and context on Islam.


Connect to Oxford Islamic Studies Online

Oxford Music Online

3 simultaneous users.

An integrated music resource on the web, including the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (second edition), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (second edition). It covers all aspects of music, including composers, performers, genres, forms, terminology, orchestras, etc. Bibliographies are included, as are links to images and sound files, and to selected web sites.


Connect to Oxford Music Online

Oxford Scholarship Online

Collection of more than 5,000 e-books from Oxford University Press in the humanities and social sciences. Each book and each chapter within each book has an abstract and assigned subject headings, and everything is searchable and printable.


Connect to Oxford Scholarship Online