Databases : P

Displaying 1 - 26 of 26

PapersFirst

PapersFirst and ProceedingsFirst are related, providing two different access methods to a database of over 169,000 published proceedings. The ProceedingsFirst database provides citations of every congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received by the British Library Document Supply Centre. The PapersFirst database contains a separate record for each paper listed in a ProceedingsFirst record. ProceedingsFirst provides a catalog record for the whole proceedings and conference, listing each paper and author in a lengthy table of contents note. PapersFirst indexes the contents of these published proceedings, paper by paper. Unfortunately, subject headings are not given for each paper, so subject access is only available through title keyword searching.


Connect to PapersFirst

Peace Research Abstracts

Peace Research Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to peace research, including conflict resolution, international affairs, peace psychology, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 267,000 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline, including Journal of Peace Research, Journal of Conflict Resolution, and International Journal of Refugee Law.


Connect to Peace Research Abstracts

Periodicals Archive Online

Collections 1-9. 

An archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. It provides access to more than 200 years of scholarship, spread across a wide variety of subject areas.


Connect to Periodicals Archive Online

Perseus

An evolving digital library of resources for the study of the ancient world. Includes full text of main Greek and Latin texts, and selected secondary works, as well as a massive library of art objects, archaeological sites, buildings, atlases and text tools.


Connect to Perseus

Philosopher's Index

Oxford campus users only.

The Philosopher's Index provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.


Connect to Philosopher's Index

PhilPapers

PhilPapers is a comprehensive index of philosophy books and articles. This database offers unique features such as real-time indexing of pre-prints, fine-grained classification by topic, email alerts, reading lists, advanced search functionality, and discussion forums.


Connect to PhilPapers

Physical Education Index

Includes information on physical education curricula, sports medicine, dance sport law, kinesiology, motor learning, recreation, standardized fitness tests, sports equipment, business and marketing, coaching and training, and sport sociology/psychology. Health education and physical therapy are also covered as as well. Contains over 290,000 records.


Connect to Physical Education Index

Play Index

An author, title, and subject index to 30,000 plays from antiquity to the present that have been published in the US since 1949. Play Index covers a wide range of plays written in or translated into English, including mysteries, pageants, plays in verse, puppet performances, radio and television plays, and classic drama. Search for plays by title; author; subject (sisters, culture conflict, marriage); style (symbolism, experimental theater); genre (comedy, melodrama, musical); cast type; and more. Play Index includes plays published as single volumes and also plays in anthologies and collections.


Connect to Play Index

Points of View Reference Center

Containing resources that present multiple sides of an issue, this database provides the basis to realize and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills. Points of View Reference Center contains many topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument). For each topic, there is a Guide to Critical Analysis, which helps the reader evaluate the controversial topics. Points of View Reference Center includes over 1,300 main essays, leading political magazines from all sides of the political spectrum, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books. The database also offers guides for writing position papers, developing arguments and debating.


Connect to Points of View Reference Center

Political Handbook of the World

Political Handbook of the World provides thorough and accurate information on the major aspects of each country's government and political party system. In addition, the Handbook profiles more than 38 non-UN intergovernmental organizations, such as OPEC, NATO, the WTO, regional banks, and the agencies and specialized bodies of the United Nations.


Connect to Political Handbook of the World

Political Science Complete

Political Science Complete contains full text for more than 550 journals, along with indexing and abstracting for over 2,900 journals, including top-ranked scholarly journals. PSC also provides over 340 full-text reference books and monographs, and over 38,000 full-text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association. PSC provides a subject-specific thesaurus with over 17,500 terms to provide subject searching guidance to researchers. Subjects covered include comparative politics, humanitarian issues, international relations, law and legislation, non-governmental organizations and political theory.


Connect to Political Science Complete

Population Index

Population Index (PI), published by the Office of population Research at Princeton University, is the primary reference resource for worldwide demographic and population literature. PI provides annotated bibliographies of recently published books, journal articles, working papers, and other material on population topics. This collection includes all issues published between 1986 (Volume 52, Number 1) and 2000 (Volume 66, Number 1); earlier issues are available through JSTOR


Connect to Population Index

Pravda Digital Archive

Pravda (or “Truth”) was the official voice of Soviet communism and the Central Committee of the Communist Party between 1918 and 1991. Founded in 1912 in St. Petersburg, Russia, Pravda originated as an underground, daily workers’ newspaper, and soon became the main newspaper of the revolutionary wing of the Russian socialist movement. The Digital Archive includes full-text and full-image access of the publication from 1912 through the end of 2009.


Connect to Pravda Digital Archive

Primary Search

Primary Search, designed specifically for elementary school libraries, contains full text for more than 80 popular elementary school magazines.


Connect to Primary Search

PRISMA: Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanisticas

PRISMA is a comprehensive reference resource providing full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America, and the Caribbean Basin. Offering key titles indexed in the Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) produced by the Latin American Center of the University of California, Los Angeles, PRISMA features Spanish, Portuguese and English language content.for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America and the Caribbean Basin.


Connect to PRISMA: Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanisticas

ProceedingsFirst

ProceedingsFirst and PapersFirst are related, providing two different access methods to a database of 5.7 million papers from over 169,000 published proceedings. The ProceedingsFirst database provides citations of every congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received by the British Library Document Supply Centre. The PapersFirst database contains a separate record for each paper listed in a ProceedingsFirst record. ProceedingsFirst provides a catalog record for the whole proceedings and conference, listing each paper and author in a lengthy table of contents note. PapersFirst indexes the contents of these published proceedings, paper by paper. Unfortunately, subject headings are not given for each paper, so subject access is only available through title keyword searching.


Connect to ProceedingsFirst

Professional Development Collection

Professional Development Collection, designed for professional educators, provides a highly specialized collection of 520 high quality education journals, including nearly 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. In addition to full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for more than 700 journals.


Connect to Professional Development Collection

Project Muse

Project MUSE provides 100% full-text, affordable and user-friendly online access to a comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences books and journals. MUSE is also the sole source of complete, full-text versions of titles from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies. Currently, MUSE provides full-text access to current content from over 400 journal titles and 3,000 book titles representing nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers.

Miami University subscribes to the Project Muse Standard Collection of e-journals and owns Project Muse e-books published in 2010, 2011, and 2012.


Connect to Project Muse

Proquest Congressional

Formerly LexisNexis Congressional.

ProQuest Congressional offers information and primary-source documents by and about the United States Congress. It indexes Congressional publications from 1789 to the present and provides access to CIS Legislative Histories for public laws (1970-). Full text is available for many publications including testimony from congressional hearings (1824-Present); committee reports (1817-Present); bill texts and status (1989-); Statutes at Large/U.S. Code (1789-); Congressional Serial Set (1789-2003); Federal Register (1980-); and the Congressional Record, including the Annals of Congress (1789-1997). It also provides information about members and committees.


Connect to Proquest Congressional

PsycCRITIQUES

Oxford campus users only.

PsycCritiques, produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), is an electronic serial of book reviews featuring full text reviews of current scholarly and professional books in psychology. The database also contains critiques of popular films and trade books from a psychological perspective. More than 36,000 reviews are included, dating back to 1956. PsycCritiques is indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.


Connect to PsycCRITIQUES

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection covers emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. This database covers 575 full text publications, including 550 peer-reviewed journals.


Connect to Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection

PsycINFO (APA)

PsycINFO contains bibliographic citations with abstracts for an array of subjects related to psychology including, education, business, medicine, nursing, law, social work, and animal behavior. PsycINFO covers all types of publications including journal articles, books, book chapters, reports, and dissertations. References include material from 45 countries and in several languages.


Connect to PsycINFO (APA)

PsycINFO (EBSCOhost)

PsycINFO contains bibliographic citations with abstracts for an array of subjects related to psychology including, education, business, medicine, nursing, law, social work, and animal behavior. PsycINFO covers all types of publications including journal articles, books, book chapters, reports, and dissertations. References include material from 45 countries and in several languages.


Connect to PsycINFO (EBSCOhost)

PsycTESTS

Oxford campus users only.

Updated monthly, this repository for ready-to-use tests and measures from the APA features instruments that are relevant to psychology and related fields, such as psychiatry, education, medicine, business, social work and more. International in scope, this resource provides access to thousands of actual test instruments, most of which are available for immediate download and use in teaching and research. PsycTESTS is an authoritative source of structured information about tests of interest to a variety of fields, and while focused on contemporary instances of test use, has coverage that spans more than a century. Each detailed test record includes a summary, background information, development history, purpose, reliability and validity data (when available), test format and the citation for the peer-reviewed source document.


Connect to PsycTESTS

Public Affairs Index

Public Affairs Index is a bibliographic database that covers all aspects of national and global contemporary public policy issues ranging from public health, the environment, housing, human and civil rights, to international commerce and conflict. This database draws from a diverse array of scholarly journals, conference papers, trade publications and government documents to provide up-to-date information on a broad range of topics of concern to the world today.


Connect to Public Affairs Index

PubMed

PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) freely accessible interface to the MEDLINE bibliographic database, covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, biomedical engineering, the health care system, and the basic biomedical sciences. MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 5,000 biomedical journals published in the United States and 80 other countries. The database contains over 15 million citations dating back to the mid-1950's. Coverage is worldwide, but most records are from English-language sources or have English abstracts. Journal articles are indexed for MEDLINE using NLM's subject heading system, MeSH (Medical Subject Headings). 

Additional information available online.


Connect to PubMed