Databases : S

Displaying 1 - 35 of 35

Sabin Americana, 1500-1926

An online collection of books about the Americas published 1500-1926 and covering history, social and political issues, science, religion, slavery, emmigration, women, and many, many other subjects. Based on the Bibliotheca Americana compiled by Joseph Sabin (begun in 1868) and augmented by the work of others, this complements Early American Imprints (books printed in North America, EEBO and ECCO (books printed in England or English 1475-1800), and the American Periodical Series Online.


Connect to Sabin Americana, 1500-1926

Safari Tech Books Online

100 simultaneous users within OhioLINK consortium.

A collection of electronic books in computer science, information technology, and related fields from O'Reilly and Associates and Pearson Technology Associates.


Connect to Safari Tech Books Online

Salem Press

Access Salem Press titles in Literature, History, Science, Health, and Careers.


Connect to Salem Press

Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps (DRC Interface)

Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps are large scale street plans produced by the Sanborn Fire Insurance company from 1867 to 1970. Sanborn maps show the outline of each building including the location of windows and doors together with street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers. These maps are used by a wide range of researchers including local historians to locate and identify buildings and neighborhoods, urban historians to study the growth of towns and cities, and environmentalists concerned about impact of new developments.


Connect to Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps (DRC Interface)

Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps (OPLIN Interface)

Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps are large scale street plans produced by the Sanborn Fire Insurance company from 1867 to 1970. Sanborn maps show the outline of each building including the location of windows and doors together with street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers. These maps are used by a wide range of researchers including local historians to locate and identify buildings and neighborhoods, urban historians to study the growth of towns and cities, and environmentalists concerned about impact of new developments.


Connect to Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps (OPLIN Interface)

Saskia Art History Images

Saskia Art History Images is a collection of digital art images with a special emphasis on the core images required for teaching the history of Western Art. Including titles from the textbooks Gardner's Art Through the Ages, Stokstad's History of Art, and Hartt's History of Italian Renaissance Art.


Connect to Saskia Art History Images

Science Citation Index Expanded

Covers more than 5,900 major journals across 150 scientific disciplines. SCI provides access to cited references from indexed articles, linking older articles to current ones that have cited them.


Connect to Science Citation Index Expanded

Science Online

A searchable collection of essays on scientific topics reproduced from 179 books published by Facts on File from 1994 through 2008. It also includes browsable diagrams, experiments, biographies, timelines, videos, news articles, and state and national standards for science education.


Connect to Science Online

Science Reference Center

Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other sources. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth and space science, environmental science, health and medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science and society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. This database provides teachers and librarians with articles correlated to state and national curriculum standards.


Connect to Science Reference Center

ScienceDirect

Elsevier's ScienceDirect is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books. There are currently more than 9.5 million articles/chapters.


Connect to ScienceDirect

SciFinder

Users must create an account, providing your @miamioh.edu email address, to use SciFinder.

SciFinder provides access to journal articles, dissertations, abstracts, and patents in chemistry and biomedicine. Search for literature or for chemical records by research topic, author, chemical substance or reaction, document identifier, and company/organization name. Over 10000 chemistry journals (from the CAPlus literature database) are included in the database along with 4800 biomedical journals (from the MEDLINE database), in addition to over 49 million substances and over 18 million reactions.


Connect to SciFinder

Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period

Contains 60 volumes of Romantic poetry by 47 Scottish women writers, in-depth scholarly introductions, and extensive contemporary critical reviews. Based on J. R. De Jackson's Romantic Poetry by Women: A Bibliography, 1770-1835 with additional biographical, bibliographical, and critical information provided by established scholars.


Connect to Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period

Scribner Writers Online

A collection approximately 1,600 full-text articles on world writers from ancient Greece and Rome to the present (including some literary genres), drawn from 13 series published by Scribner starting 1974-1998. Articles are by established scholars and offer in-depth introductory studies with extensive bibliographies. See also the Dictionary of Literary Biography articles included in Literature Resource Center.


Connect to Scribner Writers Online

Searchasaurus

Searchasaurus (for elementary and middle school students) is a colorful, easy-to-use search interface for elementary and middle school students. Searchasaurus provides access to magazine articles, pictures, encyclopedias, and a dictionary through an animated interface with a dinosaur theme that encourages students to enhance and develop basic search methodologies. Lexile limiters allow searchers to specify the reading level of materials retrieved.


Connect to Searchasaurus

Senior High Core Collection

Oxford campus users only.

This selective list of books recommended for young people in grades 9 through 12 is invaluable for collection development and maintenance, reader's advisory and curriculum support in the high school library.


Connect to Senior High Core Collection

Shock & Vibration Digest

Shock & Vibration Digest provides wide-ranging content, including full-text records covering essential areas related to shock and vibration. Topics include noise, vibration technologies, seismology, experimental mechanics, and engineering. The index contains more than 100,000 records which are selected from the most important sources within the discipline, including Journal of Sound and Vibration and Journal of Vibration & Control.


Connect to Shock & Vibration Digest

Short Story Index

Short Story Index is an essential resource for readers seeking short stories by author or genre, or for those researching a body of work of a literary figure. It provides detailed indexing for hundreds of thousands of short stories. This database is searchable by author, title, subject, keyword, date, literary technique and source, or by any combination of terms. Subject access including theme, locale, narrative technique, or device can narrow a search even further.


Connect to Short Story Index

SimplyMap

4 simultaneous users.

SimplyMap is an Internet-based mapping application that enables users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables.  Miami's subscription includes access to data from the EASI Standard Package (which includes data from the year 2000, 2010, Current Estimates, and Five Year Projections), the EASI Life Stages Package, the Experian SimmonsLOCAL, and the Nielsen Claritas PRIZM Data Packages.  

A quick reference guide is available here and the SimplyMap Variable List is available here.


Connect to SimplyMap

Smithsonian Global Sound

4 simultaneous users.

Provides online audio files for materials from the Smithsonian Folkways catalog and other archival collections representing regions of the world in various genres including folk, blues, jazz, country, children's and spoken word.


Connect to Smithsonian Global Sound

Social and Cultural History: Letters and Diaries Online

Social and Cultural History: Letters and Diaries Online allows students, scholars, and online researchers to experience the past through thousands of private writings and personal narratives. The resource is a unique forum that brings together the voices of ordinary men and women from all walks of life with the personal accounts of well-known historical figures. In their own words, people from diverse ethnic and social groups bring vividly to life hundreds of years of history through their perspectives on life, love, faith, politics, business, and countless personal events. The database currently includes 99,789 documents in 2,236 books and 432 websites.


Connect to Social and Cultural History: Letters and Diaries Online

Social Science Citation Index

The Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) indexes citations appearing in articles and reviews in leading international social science journals. Source articles and reviews are searchable by author, journal title, and year. Lists of cited references are provided for all indexed source articles and reviews; abstracts are also provided for approximately 60% of the source articles since 1992. This database is probably the most useful for advanced researchers compiling bibliographies and looking for where works have been cited.


Connect to Social Science Citation Index

Social Work Abstracts

8 simultaneous users.

Social Work Abstracts, produced by the National Association of Social Workers, Inc., contains information on the fields of social work and human services from 1977 to present. This database provides exceptional coverage of more than 450 journals in all areas of the profession, including theory and practice, areas of service, social issues, and social problems. Additional topics included pertain to the social sciences, gerontology, welfare, public health, criminology, and education as well as all areas of human services.


Connect to Social Work Abstracts

SocINDEX with Full Text

This index contains more than 1,900,000 records with subject headings from a 19,300 term sociology-specific thesaurus. This database also contains abstracts for more than 815 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895. In addition, the database provides data mined from more than 630 "priority" coverage journals as well as 2,840 "selective" coverage journals. This index replaces Sociological Abstracts.


Connect to SocINDEX with Full Text

Sociological Collection

The Sociological Collection is a comprehensive database covering information in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure. This database provides complete full text for more than 500 journals, including more than 450 peer-reviewed titles with some full text as far back as 1965.


Connect to Sociological Collection

South and Southeast Asian Literature

South and Southeast Asian Literature is a searchable collection of fiction and poetry written in English by authors from South and Southeast Asia and their Diasporas. Focusing on works composed during the late-colonial and post-colonial eras, the collection will also feature author interviews and manuscript materials that will shed additional light on the rich literary heritage and emerging traditions of this region.


Connect to South and Southeast Asian Literature

SPORTDiscus with Fulltext

SPORTDiscus is the most comprehensive, bibliographic database covering sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, training, sport administration, officiating, sport law & legislation, college & university sport, disabled persons, facility design & management, intramural & school sport, doping, health, health education, biomechanics, movement science, injury prevention rehabilitation, physical therapy, nutrition, exercise physiology, sport & exercise psychology, recreation, leisure studies, tourism, allied health, occupational health & therapy, public health and more. With full bibliographic coverage, this database includes well over 1,200,000 records with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800; over 20,000 dissertations and theses and reference to articles in 60 different languages. The content also consists of international references from journal and magazine articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings and more. SPORTDiscus is provided by the Sport Information Resource Centre.


Connect to SPORTDiscus with Fulltext

Sports Business Research Network

Sports Business Research Network includes full-text articles from 14 sports-business related publications, as well as over 2,500 tables covering participation, attendance, consumer expenditures, and market shares for 34 sports and fitness activities. Another feature is directory information for amateur and professional sporting organizations, venues, trade associations, etc.


Connect to Sports Business Research Network

Sports Market Place Directory

This database is a comprehensive directory of of current sports business reference material. It provides current information about people, organizations, and events in the sports industry, including professional, college, military, Olympic, disabled, and high school sports organizations, as well as information about media, sponsors, manufacturers, retailers, and facilities.


Connect to Sports Market Place Directory

Springer Protocols

Protocols published from 2010 forward are available. Compiling protocols from Humana’s successful book series Methods in Molecular Biology, Methods in Molecular Medicine, Methods in Biotechnology, Methods in Pharmacology and Toxicology, and Neuromethods, as well as from a vast number of Laboratory Handbooks, such as The Biomethods Handbook, The Proteomics Handbook, and the Springer Laboratory Manuals, SpringerProtocols offers researchers access to nearly thirty years worth of time tested, easily reproducible, step-by-step protocols for immediate use in their lab. Written by renowned experts in the field, each protocol is organized in an easily reproducible recipe style, and offering helpful tricks of the trade in an invaluable “notes” section, SpringerProtocols is an invaluable resource for the modern research laboratory.


Connect to Springer Protocols

SRDS Media Solutions

Recommended browser: IE 8, 9 or 10.

Local Market Audience Analyst only runs on Microsoft Windows running IE 5,7,8, or 9. 

This database includes advertising rate and contact information for the following types of publications : trade journals, consumer magazines, newspapers, out-of-home advertising, online advertising, and international trade journals, consumer magazines and newspapers worldwide.


Connect to SRDS Media Solutions

Stalin Digital Archive

The Stalin Digital Archive (SDA) contains primary and secondary source material related to Joseph Stalin's personal biography, his work in government, and his conduct of foreign affairs. A majority of these documents are scanned page images and corresponding bibliographic records in Russian created by the Russian State Archive of Social and Political History (RGASPI). The archive also contains full transcriptions of all of the volumes in Yale University Press's acclaimed Annals of Communism (AOC) series.


Connect to Stalin Digital Archive

Statistical Abstract of the United States

Published annually by the Federal Government since 1878, the Statistical Abstract of the United States is the best-known statistical reference publication in the country. As a comprehensive collection of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States, it is a snapshot of America and its people. The online version of the Statistical Abstract includes line-item access to tables and table-specific capabilities for narrowing results by source, data date, subject, and type of data breakdown. The Statistical Abstract online is updated monthly.


Connect to Statistical Abstract of the United States

Student Research Center

Student Research Center (grades 6-12) is a search interface designed for students in grades 6 through 12. SRC provides students in secondary schools with the most appropriate research tools to easily obtain the information that they need from their EBSCO databases. Students can easily pre-determine which content sources (e.g., Magazines, Newspapers, Biographies, Country Reports, Film & Video) will be included with their search. They can also search their databases by topic heading, make use of an online dictionary and encyclopedia, explore the top searches of the day, and even limit their search according to appropriate Lexile reading levels.


Connect to Student Research Center

Supreme Court Yearbook

The Supreme Court Yearbook has provided valuable in-depth coverage and analysis of every decision from the nation's highest court since the 1989-1990 term. Nineteen years of coverage are now accessible in a powerful, fully searchable online edition that lets users explore expert and timely Supreme Court coverage swiftly and comprehensively.


Connect to Supreme Court Yearbook

Synthesis (Morgan and Claypool e-books)

A library of 50- to 100-page "Lectures"; self-contained electronic books that synthesizes an important research or development topic, authored by an expert contributor to the field. Includes content from collections 1 and 2 (publication dates 2005-early 2007) only.


Connect to Synthesis (Morgan and Claypool e-books)