Databases : W

Displaying 1 - 17 of 17

Wall Street Journal

Full-text articles from the Wall Street Journal through the Factiva database. The Wall Street Journal is the financial newspaper of record, offering in-depth coverage of national and international finance as well as first rate coverage of hard news. To look for specific articles or search on a topic, click on "Search" at the top of the screen.


Connect to Wall Street Journal

Washington Information Directory

The CQ Press Washington Information Directory Online Edition brings together CQ Press's wealth of contact and descriptive information on more than 10,000 federal government offices, regulatory agencies, congressional committees, judicial offices, public interest groups, nongovernmental organizations, and international organizations in a single, easy-to-use, and fully integrated database. Searchable and browsable, the Washington Information Directory Online Edition provides verified and updated mailing addresses, phone and fax numbers, e-mail and Web site addresses, contact names, and descriptions for thousands of organizations—along with a letter template tool, a customizable address book, and much more.


Connect to Washington Information Directory

Washington Post Historical

Full text image and indexing of the Washington Post from its beginning in 1877 until 1995. The database delivers every page of every issue from cover to cover, with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF. It includes display and classified ads, comics and cartoons, photos, maps, graphics, etc., editorials and commentary, literary criticism as well as articles.


Connect to Washington Post Historical

We Were Prepared for the Possibility of Death: Freedom Riders in the South

To test President John F. Kennedy’s commitment to civil rights, the Congress of Racial Equality (CORE) proposed a Journey of Reconciliation. The “Freedom Ride” had an interracial group boarding buses destined for the South. At rest stops, whites would go into blacks-only areas and vice versa. A civil rights group's mission - and the FBI's coverage of it - provide a perspective into American politics and society. Includes surveillance reports, chronologies, witness statements and more. These materials provide unique (and in some cases recently declassified) insight into the Freedom Rides, the Kennedy administration and the segregated South.


Connect to We Were Prepared for the Possibility of Death: Freedom Riders in the South

Web of Knowledge

The Web of Knowledge integrates access to several high-quality research databases. 

Web of Science databases include: Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index. 

Additional Web of Knowledge databases include: Derwent Innovations Index, BIOSIS Previews, and Journal Citation Reports.


Connect to Web of Knowledge

Web of Science

Current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,700 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Miami subscribes to three of the Thomson database products, Science Citation Index (1965-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1965-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present). To access them click on the Web of Science link. The unique feature of Web of Science is the cited reference search, where you can look up an article and see how many times it has been cited.


Connect to Web of Science

Wiley Online Library

Wiley Online Library hosts a broad multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. The platform allows seamless integrated searching of Wiley e-journals and e-books. Materials marked with an open lock icon are available to Miami users.


Connect to Wiley Online Library

William Butler Yeats Collection

William Butler Yeats Collection is a complete electronic version of the scholarly edition of Yeats's work, bringing together 22 printed volumes and including critical and fictional prose, poetry, plays, and autobiographical works.


Connect to William Butler Yeats Collection

Women and Social Movements in the United States

This database includes documents from the President's Commission on the Status of Women, Institute for Women's Policy Research, papers of women active in the women's movements as well as selected speeches diaries and other publications.


Connect to Women and Social Movements in the United States

Women Writers Online

Women Writers Online is a full-text collection of early women’s writing in English, published by the Women Writers Project at Northeastern University. It includes full transcriptions of texts published between 1526 and 1850, focusing on materials that are rare or inaccessible. The range of genres and topics covered provides an unparalleled view of women’s literate culture in the early modern period.


Connect to Women Writers Online

Women's Studies International

This database supports curriculum development in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education. Nearly 800 essential sources include: journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, Web sites & Web documents, and grey literature.


Connect to Women's Studies International

Workforce Skills for 21st Century Success

This database provides resources to boost basic workplace and job search skills, and prepare job seekers for advanced occupational training. The interactive, self-paced learning approach allows job seekers to learn at their convenience.With Workforce Skills for 21st Century Success job seekers will:

  • Improve key workplace skills such as business writing and presentation proficiencies
  • Use award-winning step-by-step job search and resume building tools to land better jobs, faster
  • Improve or learn the computer and internet skills necessary to succeed in today's market
  • Prepare for specific careers with professional licensing and aptitude tests
  • Master the art of interviewing for professional advancement, career change or workforce entry 
  • Refresh or dramatically improve or refresh basic skills in reading, writing and math
  • Successfully prepare for the GED exam when working toward a high-school diploma

Connect to Workforce Skills for 21st Century Success

World Bank Open Knowledge Repository

The World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) is The World Bank’s official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products. Available publications include World Bank published books from 2009-2012 (which includes flagship publications, academic books and practitioner volumes), all World Development Reports (WDRs) since 1978, Policy Research Working Papers (PRWP) from 2009-2012, Economic and Sector Work (ESW) studies from 2009-2012, journal articles from 2007-2010 published in World Bank Economic Review (WBER) and World Bank Research Observer (WBRO), and World Bank Group Annual Reports and Independent Evaluation Studies. New content will include: Content published prior to 2009 (and prior to 2007 in the case of the WBER and the WBRO), bank-authored content published by third party publishers including journal articles, books and chapters, links to datasets associated with a specific work, and other knowledge products published by the World Bank.


Connect to World Bank Open Knowledge Repository

World History in Video

World history in video is an online collection of streaming videos that gives users access to critically acclaimed documentaries from filmmakers worldwide. Upon completion the collection will include more than 1750 documentaries that offer a survey of human history from the earliest civilizations to the fall of the Berlin Wall. World history in video covers Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania.


Connect to World History in Video

World Shakespeare Bibliography

Provides annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare and published or produced since 1966. The scope is international, with coverage extending to more than 98 languages and representing every country in North America, South America, and Europe, and nearly every country in Asia, Africa, and Australasia. The more than 92,375 records in this version cite several hundred thousand additional reviews of books, productions, films, and audio recordings.


Connect to World Shakespeare Bibliography

WorldCat

Worldcat is the world's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic database for books, journal titles, media, manuscripts and other materials held in libraries. Created by OCLC member libraries, Worldcat is the first place to look for bibliographic verification of any title ever published. However, if you want to limit your search to items held by Miami University Libraries, use the MUL catalog. Materials not owned by Miami or by an OhioLINK library must be requested through Interlibrary Loan.


Connect to WorldCat

WRDS

WRDS includes historical financial data from CRSP and COMPUSTAT. COMPUSTAT (from Standard & Poor's) provides current and historical Income Statements, Balance Sheets, Statements of Cash Flows, and supplemental data items on more than 24,000 publicly held companies. CRSP (Center for Research in Security Prices) maintains the most comprehensive collection of security price, return, and volume data for the NYSE, AMEX and Nasdaq stock markets. Additional free data sets include: Bank Regulatory, Blockholders, CBOE Indexes, CISDM, DMEF, Dow Jones, FDIC,Fama French, Momentum, and Liquidity, Federal Reserve Bank Reports, PHLX, Penn World Tables, SEC Disclosure of Order Execution, and TRACE.


Connect to WRDS